Monthly Archives

December 2017

F-35 Lightning II Marillyn Hewson inset

Marillyn Hewson to receive 2017 Howard Hughes Memorial Award

By Events, Hughes Award, News

Marillyn A. Hewson, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Lockheed Martin Corporation, will receive the 2017 Howard Hughes Memorial Award from the Aero Club of Southern California.

An F-35 Lightning II, from the 461st Flight Test Squadron, Edwards Air Force Base, Calif., receives fuel from a Boeing KC-135 Stratotanker from the 151st Air Fueling Wing, Utah Air National Guard. The 151st Air Refueling Wing routinely supports air operations across the western United States.

She is pictured above with the Lockheed Martin F-35 Lightning II, a family of single-seat, single-engine, all-weather stealth multirole fighters. The fifth-generation combat aircraft is designed to perform ground attack and air defense missions.

Established in 1978 by the Hughes family, the Award is presented annually to an aerospace leader whose accomplishments have contributed significantly to the advancement of aviation or space technology.

Headquartered in Bethesda, Maryland, Lockheed Martin is a global security and aerospace company that employs approximately 97,000 people worldwide and is principally engaged in the research, design, development, manufacture, integration, and sustainment of advanced technology systems, products and services.

Ms. Hewson joined Lockheed Martin more than 30 years ago as an industrial engineer. She has held several operational leadership positions, including President of Lockheed Martin Systems Integration; Executive Vice President of Global Sustainment for Lockheed Martin Aeronautics; President and General Manager of Kelly Aviation Center, L.P., an affiliate of Lockheed Martin; and President of Lockheed Martin Logistics Services.

Ms. Hewson will receive her award at a banquet at the Jonathan Club, Los Angeles, on February 7, 2018.
Previous recipients are, in chronological order, Jack Northrop, Jimmy Doolittle, Pat Hyland, Bob Six, Kelly Johnson, Chuck Yeager, Ed Heinemann, Barry Goldwater Sr., Pete Conrad, Allen Paulson, Si Ramo, Jack Real, Ben Rich, Clifton Moore, Lee Atwood, Harry Wetzel, Bobbi Trout, Tom Jones, Allen Puckett, Paul MacCready, John Brizendine, Willis Hawkins, Sam Iacobellis, Kent Kresa, Neil Armstrong, Frank Robinson, Burt Rutan, Eileen Collins, James Albaugh, Ron Sugar, Bob Hoover, Fred Smith, Clay Lacy, Steven Udvar-Hazy, Edward Stone, Elon Musk, Jim Lovell and Wes Bush.

The Aero Club is a 501 (3) (c) tax-exempt charity, with proceeds going toward the Club’s STEM scholarship programs. The media contact is Nissen Davis at [email protected], tel. 310-729-6510