2023 Howard Hughes Memorial Award – Laurans ‘Larry’ A. Mendelson

Aero Club So Cal Hughes Award

Congratulations Laurans ‘Larry’ A. Mendelson, Chairman/ CEO of HEICO and the James Webb Space Telescope Team!

September 6, 2023 was an evening of celebration when Mr. Mendelson was honored with the 44th Howard Hughes Memorial Award at the California Club.

Hundreds of attendees enjoyed a memorable evening recognizing Mr. Mendelson and his HEICO team members’ extraordinary contributions to aviation and defense. Aero Club President George Butts and Board Member Stephen Perry presented Mr. Mendelson with the Howard Hughes Memorial Award medallion minted from the Howard Hughes silver mine in Nevada.

The JWST NASA and Northrop Grumman Team received the inaugural Howard Hughes Memorial Discovery Award. Aero Club President George Butts and Space Foundation Board of Directors Chairman Jeff Grant presented trophies to Mike Menzel, NASA JWST Mission Systems Engineer and Robby Swoish, NGC JWST Operations and Maintenance Program Manager. The JWST Team was lauded for the telescope’s international collaboration and advancing aerospace discovery.

Aero Club Scholarship Donors Henry and Paulette Matson and Gary Burdorf were recognized with scholarship winners Mary Cooper, Robert Suppelsa and Jammal Yarbrough.

ACSC has sponsored the annual Howard Hughes Memorial Award since 1978 honoring individuals with outstanding career achievements in the realms of aviation and space. The Club’s scholarship program assists passionate high school and college students pursuing careers in aviation and aerospace.