2022 Howard Hughes Memorial Award – Harrison Ford

The Aero Club of Southern California is proud to honor legendary hero, both on and off-screen, Harrison Ford with the prestigious 43rd annual Howard Hughes Memorial Award. Ford will be presented the award during a live ceremony event on Friday, June 10, 2022, in Los Angeles at the California Science Center Samuel Oschin Space Shuttle […]

2021 Howard Hughes Memorial Award – Richard “Dick” Rutan

Dick Rutan

A retired United States Air Force officer and fighter pilot, test pilot, and record-breaking aviator who in 1986 piloted the Voyager aircraft on the first non-stop, non-refueled around-the-world flight. President Ronald Reagan awarded Dick and Burt Rutan the Presidential Citizens Medal. He served the Air Force as a Tactical Air Command fighter pilot in Vietnam, […]

2019 Howard Hughes Memorial Award – Captain “Sully” Sullenberger

Captain “Sully” Sullenberger has been dedicated to the pursuit of safety for his entire adult life. While he is best known for serving as Captain during what has been called the “Miracle on the Hudson,” Sullenberger is a safety expert, speaker, and author. He still flies privately. Born in Denison, Texas, Sullenberger pursued his childhood […]

2018 Howard Hughes Memorial Award Banquet

buzz aldrin

2018 HOWARD HUGHES MEMORIAL AWARD RECIPIENT: BUZZ ALDRIN Buzz Aldrin is a legendary astronaut and advocate for human space exploration. In 1966 on the Gemini 12 orbital mission, Buzz performed the world’s first successful spacewalk – extra-vehicular activity (EVA), and on July 20, 1969, Buzz and Neil Armstrong made their historic Apollo 11 moonwalk, becoming […]

2019 Scholarship Banquet and November Networking Night

EVENT DETAILS: November 13, 2019 Network with fellow aviation and aerospace enthusiasts Meet the aviation and aerospace professionals of the future—the winners of our annual scholarship program Business meeting for Aero Club members Great Buffet Hosted wine, beer, and soft drinks Event details: Member Cost: $40 Non Member Cost: $50 Venue: Flight Path Museum and […]

Lockheed Martin’s Marillyn Hewson Receives 2017 Howard Hughes Memorial Award


Lockheed Martin Chairman, President and CEO Marillyn Hewson was honored on February 7 by the Aero Club of Southern California as the 39th recipient of the Howard Hughes Memorial Award. “Marillyn joins a distinguished group of aerospace leaders,” said Aero Club president John Stammreich. “She exemplifies the spirit of this award through her bold leadership and significant contributions to driving innovation in aerospace.” “I […]

2017 General Membership & Board Election Night


Don’t Miss this Important 2017 General Membership Event JOIN US on Wednesday, November 15, 2017 5:30 – 9:00 PM The Flight Path Learning Center & Museum ACSC Hosted Bar. Hors-d’oeuvres. Buffet Dinner. Guest Speaker. Open Forum. Guests are WELCOME. Purchase your Tickets Here >

2017 Scholarship Gala Dinner Announcement

Gen. Kevin Chilton

JOIN US FOR A NIGHT OF WINNERS!! Last year, the Proud Bird Restaurant at LAX was closed for renovations. We have waited over a year to have our SECOND SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS Sit-down Gala Dinner for our Aero Club of Southern California Scholarship Winners at this beautiful new venue. Be a Witness to History!  Once again, all of our 2017 […]

DAWN Mission Chief Scientist Remarks

dawn scientist

Dr. Marc Rayman, Chief JPL Scientist for the DAWN Interplanetary Mission spoke Wednesday, May 11, 2016. The Dinner Meeting was held at the Flight Path Learning Center & Museum. The JPL Dawn Mission to the Asteroid belt won the highly prestigious Collier award as the most significant American Aerospace Achievement in 2015. Launched by NASA in September 2007 with the mission of studying two of the […]

2016 Howard Hughes Awards Dinner Event Photos

Aeroclub of Southern California Howard Hughes Memorial Award 2016

Event photos from the recent Howard Hughes Award dinner on February 1, 2017 have been posted to our online photo gallery. [button open_new_tab=”true” color=”accent-color” hover_text_color_override=”#fff” size=”medium” url=”http://www.joshuabarashphotography.com/2016hhma/” text=”See Photos Here” color_override=””]