Northrop Grumman Chairman Wes Bush to receive 2016 Howard Hughes Memorial Award from Aero Club

wes bush

Los Angeles, CA  – Wes Bush, chairman, CEO and president of Northrop Grumman Corporation, a leader in global security, has been selected by the Aero Club of Southern California to receive its 2016 Howard Hughes Memorial Award. 

Established in 1978 by the Hughes family, the Award is presented annually to an aerospace leader whose accomplishments have contributed significantly to the advancement of aviation or space technology.

Bush will receive his Award at a banquet at the Jonathan Club, Los Angeles, on Wednesday, February 1, 2017.

Previous recipients of the award are, in chronological order, Jack Northrop, Jimmy Doolittle, Pat Hyland, Bob Six, Kelly Johnson, Chuck Yeager, Ed Heinemann, Barry Goldwater Sr., Pete Conrad, Allen Paulson, Si Ramo, Jack Real, Ben Rich, Clifton Moore, Lee Atwood, Harry Wetzel, Bobbi Trout, Tom Jones, Allen Puckett, Paul MacCready, John Brizendine, Willis Hawkins, Sam Iacobellis, Kent Kresa, Neil Armstrong, Frank Robinson, Burt Rutan, Eileen Collins, James Albaugh, Ron Sugar, Bob Hoover, Fred Smith, Clay Lacy, Steven Udvar-Hazy, Edward Stone, Elon Musk and Jim Lovell.

Bush was elected to the company’s Board of Directors in 2009, named chief executive officer and president of Northrop Grumman in 2010 and assumed the role of chairman in 2011. He previously served as president and chief operating officer.

Earlier he served as president of the company’s Space Technology sector and as corporate vice president and CFO. Prior to the acquisition of TRW by Northrop Grumman, he served as president and CEO for TRW’s UK-based Global Aeronautical Systems.

Bush joined TRW in 1987 as a systems engineer and served in engineering, program management and business development roles in the Space & Electronics business. Prior to joining TRW, he held engineering positions with Aerospace Corporation and Comsat Labs.

The Aero Club is a 501 (3) (c) tax-exempt charity, with proceeds going toward the Club’s STEM scholarship programs. The media contact is Nissen Davis at, tel. 310-729-6510